It finally happened, to me!

1016677_10151736407207160_1332314276_n
I have been with my BF for 6 years and we have lived together for over 4 of those. As a woman in her early 30’s I was starting to get a bit anxious to get on the bridal train. Finally, whilst visiting BF’s parents in Spain he popped the question at the very beautiful village of Guadalest. The view was breathtaking as you can see from the picture above. I had absolutely no idea that he was going to do the deed, in fact I thought that perhaps he never would. BF was acting a little strange on the day, but then he is a little strange so didn’t look into it too much. At one point I turned around and he was looking at a buttercup… I asked him what he was doing and he just muttered something about the colour.

When researching the area before our trip, we had seen online that there was supposed to be a waterfall and lagoon within the Guadalest valley. However, after searching for it for a few hours – while taking in the other beautiful sights – we came to the conclusion that it didn’t exist. Once at the top of the cliff, near the castle ruins BF turned to me, knelt on one knee and said “Well I was going to do this by the waterfall but…” and uttered those words that all women in love want to hear. And yes I did cry. It turned out that the reason he was acting so strange was due to the fact that he didn’t yet have a ring to give me. He had therefore been trying to fashion a ring out of a flower, the first 3 attempts had failed. Well that explained the buttercup incident.

We then stayed in a hotel in Calpe, followed by a hotel in Valencia – celebrating with lots of drinks and yummy Spanish food. I still feel giddy now with the excitement, I can’t believe that I am a betrothed woman. Eeek, it is all extremely exciting.

971233_10151736403962160_951324390_n

The buttercup ring that BF proposed with

1004064_10151799254707160_1344577838_n

My actual engagement ring

One thought on “It finally happened, to me!

  1. Pingback: Vikky’s take on the National wedding show | Exclusive Weddings Cyprus

Leave a comment